Meet Cody

CodyFountainCodyUniverse

There’s a new girl in town for fans of Judy Moody and Clementine.  Two books about Cody have been published.  I hope the author, Tricia Springstubb and illustrator, Eliza Wheeler are working on a third book.

I’m glad I discovered Cody before the summer reading rush.  Parents are always seeking books that are appropriate for readers who are ready for the next step from Magic Tree House books; but they aren’t ready for a more mature plot.  Think avid kindergarten – second graders.

“So many things twang Cody’s heart: her genius big brother, her new friend Spencer, and an old cat named MewMew. For her, each day brims with surprises, so grab your hat and join the fun. First book in a brand new series!” (from author’s website)

Here’s a glimpse of the first few sentences from the first two books.

Cody and the Fountain of Happiness
“In this life many things are beautiful:
Marshmallows
100% on your spelling test
Turtles, with their cute thumb-shaped head
But if Cody had to name the most beautiful thing in the world, it would be. . .
The first day of summer vacation.”

Cody and the Mysteries of the Universe
“In this life, many things are hard to wait for:
Your turn
Your birthday
Being allowed to get a real tattoo
But if Cody had to name the hardest thing of all,  it would be waiting for her best friend, Spencer.”

I read 87 pages of the first book without stopping.  That’s unusual for me in a chapter book for the younger set.  I’m eager to get home, put on my jammies and continue to read about Cody’s adventures.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s