Other Book Awards To Be Announced on January 27th

My posts these past few weeks are Caldecott centric.  Awards for children’s and young adult books will be announced also at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Conference on Monday, January 27th at 8:00 am. (EST)  I haven’t read enough books to form an opinion on awards other than the Caldecott Medal.

All the definitions of the awards are straight from the Association for Library Service to Children’s website.

Images of the 2013 winners are included in this post.

My Family

Batchelder Award – Awarded to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.


Belpre Medal – Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.


CaldecottMedal -Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.


Coretta Scott King Book Awards – Awarded to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.


Geisel Award – Awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States.


Newbery Medal – Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


Odyssey Award -Awarded to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.


Sibert Medal – Awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States.

Katherine Paterson

Wilder Award – Honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

The Young Adult Library Services Association chooses many awards too.  You can view their site at www.ala.org/yalsa/bookawards/booklists/members  At this point in my life, I’m uneducated about potential winners.  In 6 years, this genre will be a primary focus.  ML will be 13.  Oh no!  Only 6 years til she is a teenager!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s